Fall Foods: Pumpkin, Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip Cookies

Standard

A couple of weeks ago, I re-pinned Low-Fat Pumpkin Spiced Chocolate Chip Cookies from my sister-in-law. Low-fat-Pumpkin-Spiced-Chocolate-Chip-Cookies

We ate all of the cookies in two or three days. It’s a good recipe. The next time we went grocery shopping, I restocked to make them again, this time with a few changes.

I decided I really like full sized chocolate chips in my cookies and I felt dark chocolate would cut down on some of the sweetness. I don’t have pumpkin pie spice because I really don’t like pumpkin pie. Instead, I mixed some baking spices together that I always keep on hand.

Right before making the cookies, I saw the oatmeal and started toying with oatmeal chocolate chip cookies instead. Epiphany: Pumpkin, Oatmeal, Chocolate Chip Cookies!

The original recipe seems to be a half batch of normal cookie recipes. I doubled it the second time so that I can take some to school tomorrow.

Ingredients:

1 cup whole wheat flour

1 cup all purpose flour

1/2 tsp. baking soda

1 tsp. cinnamon

1 tsp. Penzey’s Baking Spice

1 tsp. Allspice

Nutmeg

1/4 tsp. salt

1 cup granulated sugar

1 cup brown sugar

4 tbsp. butter (I used unsalted because it’s what I had)

2 eggs

4 tbsp. pumpkin puree

2 tsp. vanilla

3 cups oatmeal

1 cup dark chocolate chips

Preheat oven to 350 degrees.

Mix the flours, baking soda, spices, and salt in a separate bowl.

Mix the sugars, butter, eggs, pumpkin, and vanilla.

Add the dry ingredients.

Add the oatmeal. Stir in the chocolate chips.

Bake 8 minutes.

All mixed!

All mixed!

Baking!

Baking!

Hot out of the oven!

Hot out of the oven!

Yum!

Yum!

One response »

Leave a Reply

