The Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad CATASTROPHE

Standard

I should have realized that it all started this morning when I went to pull my classroom copy of Alexander and the Terrible, Horrible, No Good, Very Bad Day off of my bookshelf to read to my fifth graders. ALEXANDER_TERRIBLE_HORRIBLE

When I quoted it last week, only one got the reference. Knowing I would probably reference it multiple more times in the upcoming 30 school weeks, I figured they should know it.

Fast forward eight hours.

It was almost dinner time when my wonderful husband who cooks regularly for me asked me to make 2 tablespoons of brown sugar (Check out this post to make your own brown sugar!) for our Pad Thai. He’s making Pad Thai? Of COURSE I’m willing to help!

I pulled out the sugar that I keep in a plastic resealable bag. It keeps out ants and it stores better. No spilling.

I placed the sugar on the closest empty surface – the stove burner, not realizing it had just been used to boil water.

Instantly, the plastic bag was melted. Of course, my natural reaction was to pull the bag off of the stove. The bottom had disintegrated. Five pounds of sugar POURED out of it, all over the stove, all over the floor.

The dogs being the scavengers that they are instantly started trying to lick up as much sugar as they could as sugar continued to now pour onto them!

I tried to vacuum as much as I could, but the vacuum filled up quickly. When I dumped it, I didn’t realize I also dumped the filter. So, on the second round of vacuuming, sugar was going in, and then right back out the vent all over my countertops.

After “vacuuming” a second time, I mopped, twice. The floor was still crunchy (NOT crunchee) after dinner so I did everything a third time. Yay.

I suppose I will be cleaning sugar for a few days. I know “some days are like this.” Hopefully, “even in Australia.”

Fortunately for my class, I will be able to make a really GREAT connection when I read this book to them tomorrow.

Thank you to my Sprint Buddy for giving me an extra copy 11 years ago so that I have a copy to read to my class tomorrow!

5 responses »

  1. This gives a whole new meaning to the term “sugar blues”…and I haven’t read this book in so long-I’m going to have to revisit it 🙂

  2. I love that song! Haven’t heard it in ages.

    I did something similar once but it was Thanksgiving. I had baked big turkey breast that I had topped with a sugary glaze and as I was taking it out of the oven the pan got caught on something and because it was hot I lost my hold and dropped it. Half of the glaze ended up in the already hot oven and the rest on the floor. Luckily the turkey breast landed on the oven door. But I was still pretty pissed. Cleaning the oven hours later was not fun.

Leave a Reply

