Electrolyte Juice

Standard

Last spring when we were gearing up for a 10K, we were cramping A LOT. I remembered in college when I tried to eat bananas at every meal because I had heard the potassium helps to stop the cramping. I HATE the texture of bananas so that took a lot of effort. After about a week, the trainer finally told me to take an electrolyte pill instead. When I asked what it was, she told me it was basically a salt pill, and it worked!

In the past few years, whenever I’ve taken up running again I usually start getting cramps. Gatorade does the trick for the most part. However, in an effort to get away from processed/full of weird stuff food and drink, I looked online for an electrolyte drink recipe.

During my research time, I learned that electrolytes help attract water to the areas of your body that need it. When you sweat, you lose salt – duh. So, because you’re losing salt, you need to replace it. Otherwise it’s not in your body to help attract the water, even though you may be drinking A LOT  of water!

I found these recipes. We tried the Lip Twister first. It was expensive to buy all of the fruit and hard to drink. Next, we tried the Easy Sweet. We have never needed to try anything else.

Just add water.

Just add water.

Ingredients:

1 can of coconut milk (The real recipe calls for 2 cups which is a little more than a can. Saving the rest of the second can always changes the consistency of the next batch, which is why I just use 1 can.)

1 tsp of honey

1 tsp of salt

1 L of water

Steps:

Mix together and drink.

I mix the salt and honey with just the coconut milk first to make sure it really gets absorbed.

I mix the salt and honey with just the coconut milk first to make sure it really gets absorbed.

We have one glass after every run and after every tough workout (Ultimate Fitness with Vicki!).

It can sit in the fridge for a little less than a week. Ours usually only last a couple of days.

It can sit in the fridge for a little less than a week. Ours usually only last a couple of days.

At first, I was buying cans of Whole Foods 365 Brand of coconut milk. Towards the end of the summer, I thought there was probably a cheaper option out there. We bought a carton of coconut milk and that worked until I read the ingredients – not pure coconut milk.

After some more research, I found this article that talked about what different brands actually put in their coconut milk. I found 12 cans of Native Forest coconut milk on Amazon. As a Prime member, free shipping too! We’ve noticed a difference in taste. Our electrolyte juice is much creamier and a little sweeter than before.

Do you have a natural electrolyte replenisher? If so, what’s your concoction?

Leave a Reply

