Sleeeeep: Revisited

Standard

Have every post relate to “Finding Nemo” this week? Challenge accepted!

In this post last week, I was pretty frustrated because the kids hadn’t even started coming to school, but the stress of school was keeping me awake at night. I know that I can walk into any doctor’s office and get a prescription for this, but I wanted a natural way out, if there was one. After doing some research, I settled on trying chamomile tea first.

Many nights during the past few school years, I feel like someone is telling me to just stay awake, just like Marlin is telling Dory to stay awake after swimming through the jellyfish.

(sorry for the poor quality).

We do a lot of our grocery shopping at Whole Foods. Yes, it can be pricey if we’re not careful, and yes, miss is an understatement for how I feel about not being close to a Wegmen’s any more. Overall though, shopping at Whole Foods is a good experience. Hm, I could go on for awhile about Whole Foods. I’ll have to save that for another post.

A week and a half ago while doing my grocery shopping there, I picked up some loose chamomile. Almost every night since then, both my husband and I have had a cup of tea before going to bed – cost $1.32.

I have found that I still wake up in the middle of the night. Unlike the nights without chamomile tea though, I fall back asleep within minutes, instead of hours.

There have been two days in the last week that had some underlying excitement that caused anxiety. First, Meet the Teacher/Orientation. This is always a little nerve-wracking because it’s the first time I meet any of them! It’s always one of those things that can be great, or not so great.

Second, was the first day of school. One whole day with me and 29 9/10/11 year olds? I think that’s enough to give anyone a little anxiety. Needless to say, the night before both of these days were a little restless and the chamomile didn’t really help. For the general anxiety though, the chamomile has been great!

If you choose to go this route, Crunchers, drink it about an hour before actually going to bed. I have found that the nights I drink it immediately before bed I have to get up to use the restroom in the middle of the night.

I know the Nemo scene is a stretch. Thanks for putting up with my punchy humor.

One response »

  1. A friend of mine recommends a product called MidNite which is chamomile and some other herbs in a capsule form. She said she takes it when she wakes up during the night to go back to sleep and doesn’t wake up groggy at all. I would still try it on a weekend though:)

Leave a Reply

