Just Keep Running, Just Keep Running

Standard

As a swimmer for 15 years, Dory’s original version, “Just Keep Swimming” has had a lot more use to me.

Now that I have not been an active swimmer for the last 5 1/2 years, it was time to find a new outlet. Last year, both my husband and I started running. We needed to do something active, and running is something we could do with our pups. My goal immediately was to complete the Monument 10K. Hubby’s goal was to run a 5K. In the back of my mind, I wanted to eventually run a half marathon.

In December we completed a 5K that supported Childhood Arthritis. It was a lot hillier than we expected and pretty cold, so not as much fun as I had hoped. After that race, I started planning for the Monument in the spring. My husband WANTED to do it, but he was hesitant. We started training in January, more just so that we wouldn’t talk ourselves out of it by the time everyone else started training. It was fun to train because the weather started getting warmer and we spent a lot of time outside. We even ran in Charleston, SC while on vacation.

Us at the park we ran around

Us at the park we ran around

We did complete the 10K in one hour and two minutes. I was impressed because it was faster than the time I ran the same race in four years earlier.

After that, I started talking up the Rock ‘N Roll Half Marathon in Virginia Beach. I had first heard about it while life guarding over ten years ago and have for some reason, always wanted to do it. Let me tell you, training for your first half through a Virginia summer can be pretty miserable. I knew this going in, and I still wanted to do it. My husband decided he to wanted to be tortured with running through Virginia’s heat and humidity for miles upon miles upon miles a week.

We did put up with our fair share of gross, uncomfortable runs, but we got to run in some pretty cool places too. Most of our long runs we did through Richmond (because it’s flatter than our neighborhood). We also got to run along Lake Michigan in Chicago.

From some man-made peninsula

From some man-made peninsula

Post-Chicago-Run Success

Post-Chicago-Run Success

We also ran through Cape Hatteras.

Heaven, basically

Heaven, basically

It all took us to the race yesterday. And there were definitely parts of the 13.1 miles that I had to tell myself to just keep running. But we made it!

Race Day Wake-Up

Race Day Wake-Up

 

Finishers!

Finishers!

And after the race, we napped on the beach. Life can’t get better than that.

Post-Race Nap Time

Post-Race Nap Time

Leave a Reply

